Day 246: The Shutdown Plan

Nope, not shutting down the blog. Just the computer. And the iPad. And the iPhone. And thank God I don’t have other devices. 

It’s not just about how computer use before bed has an effect on melatonin levels. It’s about not being able to quiet the brain. Tell me if this sounds familiar: It’s about 11 p.m., the TV is on, you’re on your laptop, checking Facebook, Twitter, email, watching some YouTube videos, catching up with the news, maybe chatting with an old friend, and in the meanwhile you’re also responding to text messages from that guy you met at that thing last week (or from your mom). 

Honestly, how are we supposed to get a good night’s sleep? Or have a comprehensive, uninterrupted thought? No wonder one in ten kids have ADHD and most adults don’t seem to be doing much better. 

So, clearly, I’m not holding up to this tonight, but we’ll call this new today because it’s a decision. I’m shutting down. 

Starting tomorrow, after 10 p.m., I’m shutting down my computer and my iDevices. I’m going to try that for two weeks, then go down to 9 p.m. I’ll try that for another two and see how it’s going. My hope is that cutting back the excess stimulation before bed will help me sleep better, and thus help with an increase in productivity and energy, and a reduction in daytime tiredness and anxiety. 

A few exceptions: I’ll take phone calls. Those don’t require keeping my eyes peeled to a screen. I also sometimes like to listen to familiar movies or audiobooks as I’m falling asleep. A few minutes to find the appropriate setting is fine. And since I’m not shutting off the TV (movies relax me), using the laptop screen to watch something on Netflix or what have you is fine, at least until I get my Roku. 

I just think we’re too overstimulated. Our brains are running all the time, and eventually, they’re going to explode. Aren’t you just exhausted? 

 

Leave a comment